Filing for primary election officially closed

By Stephen Kalb-Koenigsfeld


As of 5 p.m. Monday night, election filing has officially closed with numerous county seats to be contested in the June primary election. Some, however, won’t be contested at all. 

Headlining the contention will be for the justice of the peace position. Dan Tronrud and Kevin McCauley will be running against incumbent Jessie Connolly for the justice of the peace.

In the commissioner contest, the District 3 seat will be up for James Moody or Lauren McMullen to take, but will be decided in the November general election, as McMullen filed as a democrat. Sitting commissioner Bob Faw will be retiring. Melanie Roe was the only candidate to file for the currently-open District 1 seat. 

The Sweet Grass County Sheriff position will be contested between Joe Hensley and Alan Ronneberg, as current-sheriff Dan Tronrud will be vacating the seat to run for justice of the peace. 

Vera Pederson was the only one to file for clerk and recorder/election administrator; Char Fuller was the only to file for treasurer; Susan Metcalf was the sole name on the superintendent of schools ballot; Patrick Dringman was the lone filer for county attorney and Elaine Allestad was the only one to file for public administrator. 

When it came to the five precincts for the Sweet Grass County Republican Central Committee (SGCRCC), four of the five precincts were filled during the filing session.  

In Precinct 1, Brook Osen and John Fiveash filed for their respecitive genders, where a seat is open for both a male and a female; In Precinct 2, it was Catherine McKenzie and Donald Brewer and in Precinct 5, Becky Frese and Rocky Heinemann both filed.

Precinct 4 had just Roger Inderland file for the spot, and Precinct 3 will have contention between Rick Jarrett and Craig Greenlee, who filed for the male spot, while Pamela Rein filed her postion.

On the Conservation District portion of the ballot, Stuart Stenberg, Steve Story and Mark Thompson have all filed. 

At the state level, Nels Swandal announced earlier this year he would not be running for the Senate District 30 seat again. That left Dan Vermillion and John Esp to both file of the seat. 

In House District 57, incumbent Forrest Mandeville was the only one to file. In House Distirct 59, Alan Redfield, Linda Burch and Zachary Macy all filed for that seat. 

Check back with the Pioneer in the coming months before the primary election for in-depth interviews with each of the candidates on how they view their respective position they’re running for.